Child Development

Cambridge National Diploma in Child Development

What are Cambridge National qualifications?

Cambridge Nationals are vocational qualifications at Level1/2 for students aged 14-16. They are designed to fit into the curriculum and to offer the same size, rigour and performace points as GCSEs. They will form a key part of any student's Progress 8 and Attainment 8 approved subjects.

What does the course involve?

This course consists of three units: One examined and two internally assessed and externally moderated, comprising 50% for the exam and 25% for the other two units.

Unit 1:

The first unit underpins all of the other learning in this qualification. All students will learn the essential knowledge and understanding for child development, covering reproduction, parental responsibility, antenatal care, birth, postnatal checks, care, conditions for development, childhood illnesses and child safety. Knowledge gained would be of use for further studies in PSHE, Biology and other Child Development qualifications.

Unit 2:

Students will gain knowledge of the equipment needs of babies and young children and an understanding of the factors to be considered when choosing appropriate equipment to meet all of these needs. They will also gain knowledge of nutrition and hygeine practices and will be given the opportunity to evaluate dietary choices.

Unit 3:

Students will gain knowledge of, and skills in, developing activities to observe development norms in children up to the age of five. This unit will include researching, planning and carryign out activities with children and observing and reviewing these activities, as well as an understanding of the developmetn norms and the benefits of play in child development. These transferable skills will support further studies in many other subjects.

The course runs as follows:

Year 9 – Unit 1 – Health and well-being for child development (Exam unit).

Year 10 – Unit 2 – Understand equipment and nutritional needs of children from birth to five years.

Year 11 – Unit 3 – Understand the development of a child from birth to five years.

The rationale behind sitting the exam in Year 9 is that students can retake the exam the year after if marks are unsatisfactory. It also affords less pressure in year 11 when students are writing their GCSE’s as they will already have written the child development exam. The course was run like this last year with great success, where the year 9’s achieved very well.


Staff contact:

Tessa Scott

Head of Child Development/ Mathematics teacher

Lucy Goddard

Associate SLT/ Head of Inclusion/ Child Development